• Menu
  • Menu
Books and Bao Website Banner

Literature Shop

Welcome

Shop from our recommended books and book-related gifts (may include some cats).

Check back regularly to find new favourites.

____________________

jokes for the gunmen

Jokes for the Gunmen by Mazen Maarouf

A brilliant collection of fictions in the vein of Roald Dahl, Etgar Keret and Amy Hempel. These are stories of what the world looks like from a child's pure but sometimes vengeful or muddled perspective. These are stories of life in a war zone, life peppered by surreal mistakes, tragic accidents and painful encounters. These are stories of fantasist matadors, lost limbs and perplexed voyeurs
Sergius Seeks Bacchus Tilted Axis Press

Sergius Seeks Bacchus by Norman Pasaribu

A collection of poetry that speaks of the lives of queer individuals in Indonesia. It won first prize in the 2015 Jakarta Arts Council Poetry Manuscript Competition and was a finalist of Khatulistiwa Literary Award for Poetry.
His dark materials philip pullman book

His Dark Materials: 3 Novel Gift Edition

An utterly entrancing blend of metaphysical speculation and bravura storytelling, HIS DARK MATERIALS is a monumental and enduring achievement. Northern Lights introduces Lyra, an orphan, who lives in a parallel universe in which science, theology and magic are entwined. Lyra's search for a kidnapped friend uncovers a sinister plot involving stolen children and turns into a quest to understand a mysterious phenomenon called Dust.
john steinbeck candle

Paddywax Library Collection John Steinbeck 2-Wick Candle

The Paddywax Library Collection pairs exquisite fragrance with a literary great. Reusable stamped copper travel tin holds a candle with 2-wicks The fragrance is a blend of smoked birch and amber. Burns up to 20 hours
roald dahl gift

Roald Dahl Fine China Insulated Travel Mug

A beautiful, collectable JAMES AND THE GIANT PEACH travel mug, made of blue china with the author's name embossed on the silicone lid. Made of durable fine china, with a double-walled thermal design and stay-cool silicone sipper lid. Holds a full mug (350 ml) of coffee Part of the enchanting Roald Dahl collection. Mug is dishwasher and microwave safe. Silicone lid is hand wash only.
bookshop tom gauld

The Snooty Bookshop: Fifty Literary Postcards

Tom Gauld has created countless iconic strips for the Guardian over the course of his illustrious career. A master of condensing grand, highbrow themes into panel comics, his weekly strips embody his trademark sense of humour while simultaneously opening comics to an audience unfamiliar with the artistry that cartooning has to offer. This postcard set celebrates more than a decade of Gauld's contributions to the Guardian, with fifty of his most beloved strips.
wild swans

Wild Swans: Three Daughters of China by Jung Chang

An engrossing record of Mao’s impact on China, an unusual window on the female experience in the modern world, and an inspiring tale of courage and love, Jung Chang describes the extraordinary lives and experiences of her family members: her grandmother, a warlord’s concubine; her mother’s struggles as a young idealistic Communist; and her parents’ experience as members of the Communist elite and their ordeal during the Cultural Revolution.
hokkaido highaway blues

Hokkaido Highway Blues by Will Ferguson

Not in 4000 years of Japanese recorded history had anyone followed the Cherry Blossom Front from one end of the country to the other. Nor had anyone hitchhiked the length of Japan. But, heady on sakura and sake, Will Ferguson bet he could do both. The resulting travelogue is one of the funniest and most illuminating books ever written about Japan.
one hundred shadows

One Hundred Shadows Paperback by Hwang Jungeun

An oblique, hard-edged novel tinged with offbeat fantasy, One Hundred Shadows is set in a slum electronics market in central Seoul where the shadows of the slum's inhabitants have started to rise and leave them. Translated by Jung Yewon.
jane austen pin badges

Jane Austen and Books Enamel Pins

Because who doesn't want Jane Austen's face pinned to them? Great quality metal pins for the literature fan.
lit literature

Lit Literature Kitty

Brighten up a day at the office with this lit literature kitty.
Cat Bookmarks

Reading Cat Metal Bookmarks (Set of Two)

The cutest high-quality metal books of cats reading and drinking coffee. What more do you need?
city of ash and red

City of Ash and Red by Hye-young Pyun

Distinguished for his talents as a rat killer, the nameless protagonist is sent by the extermination company he works for on an extended assignment in C, a country descending into chaos and paranoia, swept by a contagious disease, and flooded with trash. No sooner does he disembark than he is whisked away by quarantine officials and detained overnight. Isolated and forgotten, he realizes that he is stranded with no means of contacting the outside world. Translated by Sora Kim-Russell
convenience store woman

Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata

Tokyo resident Keiko has never fit in but when at the age of eighteen she begins working at her local store “Smile Mart,” she finds peace and purpose in her life. Keiko is very happy, but the people close to her pressure her to find a husband and to start a proper career. Translated by Ginny Tapley Takemori.
flights olga tokarczuk

Flights by Olga Tokarczuk

From the incomparably original Polish writer Olga Tokarczuk, Flights interweaves reflections on travel with an in-depth exploration of the human body, broaching life, death, motion, and migration. Translated by Jennifer Croft.

Thank you for reading! Let's connect: Instagram | Facebook | Twitter Don't forget to visit our store or our writing services pages. Get £15 Free on Booking.com or Airbnb.